Why Confidence Is Overrated

Aabha Gopan
1 min readAug 31, 2021

--

What really matters for success? Confidence? I beg to differ.

Being in my late 20s, I have been through quite a few scenarios where confidence helped me. I have been on stages to sing, debate, MC, act, and whatnot. Confidence got me there.

But when I think of it now, it wasn’t confidence all along.

Confidence is the belief that you’ll do well. Which, to me, sounds unrealistic. No matter how talented you’re, you’re prone to lose. There is always going to be a tiny probability of failure despite how prepared or skilled you’re.

And that is the reality.

What got you and me through those nervous situations is courage. Precisely saying, the courage to fail.

I wouldn’t have gone on stage if I wasn’t prepared to face humiliation. Nor would an entrepreneur start a business believing it will flourish.

Is confidence a hoax then?

I wouldn’t go that far as to call it a hoax. Anyone who is confident has to have the courage to lose. So, confidence comes after courage. This means that courage is the hero and not confidence.

--

--

Aabha Gopan

Loving human minds while changing my toddler's diaper.